10/28/2023 09:30 AM
Location: Surplus Services (5420 Old Highway 8, Arden Hills MN 55112)
- All items are offered AS-IS, WHERE-IS, including all faults and defects, known or unknown.
- A valid driver’s license or other government issued picture identification is required to register
- No person under 18 years of age may purchase a vehicle.
- Payment: Cash or Check Only - NO CREDIT CARDS. If you are paying by check you will be required to provide your Social Security Number.
- The 7.125% Minnesota/Local sales tax applies to all items sold at auction except for motor vehicles. A $20 per vehicle Metro Transit fee will be applied to vehicle purchases.
- State and political subdivision employees may purchase no more than one motor vehicle from each state auction. (M.S. 15.054)
Inspection and Registration begins at 8:00 a.m. - Auction begins at 9:30 a.m.
Surplus Services, 5420 Old Hwy 8 (35W & Co Rd I) Arden Hills, MN
Item availability. Surplus Services offers the items listed on the attached pages for sale by public auction on a reserve basis. The State of Minnesota reserves the right to withdraw any of the items prior to the completion of the sale of such items. All items are offered AS-IS, WHERE-IS. Inspection begins at 8 a.m. on sale day.
Identification required. A valid driver’s license or other government issued picture identification is required to obtain a bidding number. No person under 18 years of age may purchase a vehicle.
All sales are final. A sale is complete when the auctioneer so announces by the fall of the hammer or other customary manner in accordance with state statutes. The State of Minnesota makes no warranty as to the fitness, merchantability or condition of the listed items. The successful bidder agrees to purchase said items, condition AS-IS, WHERE-IS, including all faults and defects, known or unknown.
Liability. Once the sale is complete, the buyer is liable for the amount of the bid, plus sales tax when applicable. He or she accepts full responsibility and assumes all risks of disappearance, theft or damage for any item purchased. The buyer waives, releases and discharges the State of Minnesota, its agencies, officers and employees, the host auction facility and the auction company from any liability in the event of disappearance, theft or damage of any item purchased.
Payment. The full amount of the bid price must be paid on day of the sale. Personal/business checks or cash will be accepted for the full amount only. Anyone writing a personal/business check will be required to provide his or her Social Security Number or FEIN number. No credit cards, credit card checks, or starter checks are accepted. Checks should be made payable to “Surplus Services.” You will be charged $30.00 for issuing Surplus Services a bad check pursuant to M.S. 322.50, Subd. 2. You may also be subject to a civil penalty of $100.00 or 100% of the value of the check, whichever is greater, plus interest and attorney fees. Uncollectible checks will be turned over to law enforcement authorities according to state law. Failure to pay for any items for which you are the successful bidder will result in restriction from future sales and a collection fee up to 25% of the amount due will be added when debt is referred to the Department of Revenue.
Sales tax. The 7.125% Minnesota/Metro sales tax applies to all items sold at auction except for motor vehicles and titled trailers. Sales tax on motor vehicles/titled trailers will be collected at the time of title transfer. A $20 Metro Transit fee will be applied to each vehicle/titled trailer purchased. Buyers exempt from paying the tax must present a copy of their Dealer license or Tax Exemption certificate with their sales and use tax number and a signed certificate of exemption to the deputy registrar or auction clerk.
Other requirements for vehicles. The buyer assumes all costs of title transfer and registration fees. A fee of up to $75 may be charged to replace lost titles, certificates of origin, lien releases, etc. Vehicles cannot be driven from the premises until the full purchase price has been paid, and the required license plates or 21-day certificate is attached. If the buyer is not a Minnesota resident they will be required to purchase 31-day out state permit for $11.00. Cash only for out state permits. No person under 18 years of age may purchase a vehicle.
State and political subdivision employees. State of Minnesota and political subdivision employees may purchase no more than one motor vehicle from each state auction.
Removal of purchases. All purchases must be removed on the day of the auction. If it is not possible to do so, specific arrangements must be made with the designated agency representative. Failure to remove items will result in charges for storage at the prevailing local rate for impounded vehicles or the items will be resold to recover handling and storage expenses.
Call the Auction Hotline at (651) 296-1056, or visit the Surplus Services’ web site at: www.mnsurplus.org
The next State Surplus Property Auction is scheduled for April 22, 2017 in Arden Hills, MN.